Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
Public university · Wien · wu.ac.at
Degree programmes
24
With a selection or test
20
83% of programmes
Students, WS 2025/26
23,003
Fees
- €363.36 or €726.72 a semester where tuition applies, plus the €26.20 student union fee
At public universities, students from the EU/EEA pay no tuition within the standard length of their programme plus a tolerance; beyond it they pay €363.36 a semester. Students from outside the EU/EEA generally pay €726.72 a semester. Everyone pays the student union (ÖH) fee.
Bachelor's (3)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Business and EconomicsWien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Business LawWirtschaftsrecht · Wien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | Entrance or aptitude test |
| Economics and Social SciencesWirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften · Wien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | Selection procedure |
Master's (15)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Business CommunicationWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Business LawWirtschaftsrecht · Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Digital EconomyWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| EconomicsWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Export and Internationalisation ManagementExport und Internationalisierungsmanagement · Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Finance and AccountingFinanzwirtschaft und Rechnungswesen · Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| International Management / CEMSWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| ManagementWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| MarketingWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Quantitative FinanceWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Socio-Ecological Economics and PolicyWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Socio-EconomicsSozioökonomie · Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Strategy, Innovation and Management ControlWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Supply Chain ManagementWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Taxation and AccountingSteuern und Rechnungslegung · Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
Teacher training, master's (1)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Business EducationWirtschaftspädagogik · Wien | 5 sem.150 ECTS | Selection procedure |
Doctorate / PhD (5)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Business LawWirtschaftsrecht · Wien | — | No entrance test |
| Economics and Social SciencesWirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften · Wien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | not stated |
| FinanceWien | — | Selection procedure |
| International Business TaxationWien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | not stated |
| Social and Economic SciencesSozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften · Wien | — | No entrance test |
Students by winter semester
People enrolled, from Statistik Austria — the same count as the citizenship table below.
| 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 | 2025/26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23,759 | 23,545 | 22,887 | 21,480 | 20,932 | 21,272 | 21,463 | 21,807 | 22,367 | 23,003 |
Students by citizenship, WS 2025/26
People enrolled on 28 February 2026, the ministry's count date for the semester.
Austria
13,975
60.8% of 23,003 students
Other EU countries
5,978
26.0% of 23,003 students
Non-EU countries
3,050
13.3% of 23,003 students
21,681 are on a degree programme and 1,322 on university courses, preparatory courses or single lectures. 5,930 were admitted by this university for the first time this semester.
By citizenship, in the ministry's three groups: Austria, other EU countries, and all other countries. The source does not say where citizens of Switzerland and the non-EU EEA countries are counted. This is not a count of international or exchange students: citizenship says nothing about where someone lived or went to school. Nor is it the fee split, which follows its own rules.
| Winter semester | Austria | Other EU countries | Non-EU countries | Non-Austrian citizens |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014/15 | 16,649 | 4,336 | 1,838 | 27.1% |
| 2015/16 | 16,942 | 4,410 | 1,945 | 27.3% |
| 2016/17 | 17,216 | 4,446 | 2,097 | 27.5% |
| 2017/18 | 17,164 | 4,277 | 2,104 | 27.1% |
| 2018/19 | 16,590 | 4,152 | 2,145 | 27.5% |
| 2019/20 | 15,407 | 3,992 | 2,081 | 28.3% |
| 2020/21 | 15,123 | 3,935 | 1,874 | 27.8% |
| 2021/22 | 14,763 | 4,330 | 2,179 | 30.6% |
| 2022/23 | 14,426 | 4,614 | 2,423 | 32.8% |
| 2023/24 | 14,073 | 5,055 | 2,679 | 35.5% |
| 2024/25 | 13,888 | 5,574 | 2,905 | 37.9% |
| 2025/26 | 13,975 | 5,978 | 3,050 | 39.2% |
Degree studies, WS 2025/26
22,823 degree studies, 6,819 of them begun this semester — a different count from the 23,003 students above.
A study is one enrolment in one degree programme, not a person. Someone enrolled in two programmes counts twice, while a programme run jointly with another institution — including teacher-training subjects shared with teacher-education colleges — is divided between the partners by an agreed key. So a university can have more studies than students or fewer, and the two counts should not be compared or added. Only degree studies (bachelor's, diploma, master's, doctorate) are counted; continuing-education university courses are not. “Begun” means studies in their first semester — a student who switches programme or adds a second one begins a study without being new to the university.
| Degree type | Studies | Share | Begun |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | 16,845 | 73.8% | 4,570 |
| Master's | 5,190 | 22.7% | 2,151 |
| Doctorate | 788 | 3.5% | 98 |
Studies by the student's citizenship: Austria 14,381 · Other EU countries 5,812 · Non-EU countries 2,630. Figures are rounded, so parts may differ from the total by one or two.
Largest fields (8 of 11)
Fields are the international ISCED-F 2013 classification the ministry assigns to each programme, not the university's own programme names.
| Field | Studies | Share | Begun |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business and administration, not further defined | 12,556 | 55.0% | 3,512 |
| Law | 5,260 | 23.0% | 1,282 |
| Management and administration | 1,499 | 6.6% | 807 |
| Interdisciplinary programmes: business, administration and law | 956 | 4.2% | 357 |
| Finance, banking and insurance | 686 | 3.0% | 308 |
| Teacher training with subject specialisation | 328 | 1.4% | 88 |
| Accounting and taxation | 317 | 1.4% | 107 |
| Sociology and cultural studies | 302 | 1.3% | 103 |
| Winter semester | 2014/15 | 2015/16 | 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 | 2025/26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Degree studies | 24,765 | 24,957 | 25,299 | 25,182 | 24,150 | 22,565 | 21,788 | 21,836 | 21,699 | 21,724 | 22,187 | 22,823 |
| Begun | 5,777 | 6,621 | 6,881 | 6,563 | 6,568 | 5,262 | 5,581 | 5,805 | 5,981 | 6,313 | 6,721 | 6,819 |
Degrees completed, 2024/25
3,749 degree studies were completed in the 2024/25 study year: Bachelor's 2,206 · Master's 1,438 · Doctorate 105. By the graduate's citizenship: Austria 2,473 · Other EU countries 954 · Non-EU countries 322.
Completed degree studies in the study year, final figures. These are degrees finished, not people, and a jointly run programme is divided between the partner institutions in the same way as enrolments.
| 2014/15 | 2015/16 | 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2,590 | 2,913 | 2,972 | 3,040 | 3,023 | 3,439 | 3,335 | 3,097 | 3,568 | 3,498 | 3,749 |
Visas, living costs and how to apply in Austria are in our Austria study guide. The register doesn't record the language of instruction — check the programme's own page.
Sources: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research — the higher-education programme register (Hochschulen, Studiengänge) on data.gv.at, CC BY 4.0; student numbers from Statistik Austria, “Studierende an öffentlichen Universitäten nach Uni”, CC BY 4.0.
Citizenship, degree-type, field and graduation figures: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research (BMFWF) — “Studierende öffentliche Universitäten”, “ordentliche Studien und begonnene Studien öffentliche Universitäten” and “ordentliche Studienabschlüsse öffentliche Universitäten”, CC BY 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0), datasource: data.gv.at. Changes: summed across sex and field, rounded to whole numbers, shares calculated and field names given in English by CollegeMatcher.