Medizinische Universität Wien
Public university · Wien · meduniwien.ac.at
Degree programmes
11
With a selection or test
5
45% of programmes
Students, WS 2025/26
9,040
Fees
- €363.36 or €726.72 a semester where tuition applies, plus the €26.20 student union fee
At public universities, students from the EU/EEA pay no tuition within the standard length of their programme plus a tolerance; beyond it they pay €363.36 a semester. Students from outside the EU/EEA generally pay €726.72 a semester. Everyone pays the student union (ÖH) fee.
Bachelor's (1)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Mathematical Foundations of Data ScienceWien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | Selection procedure |
Master's (4)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Medical InformaticsWien · joint programme: Technische Universität Wien, Medizinische Universität Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Medical InformaticsMedizinische Informatik · Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Molecular Precision MedicineWien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| PsychotherapieWien · joint programme: Universität Wien, Medizinische Universität Wien | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
Diploma programme (2)
Doctorate / PhD (4)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Applied Medical ScienceAngewandte Medizinische Wissenschaft · Wien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Molecular BiosciencesPhD Molecular Biosciences · Wien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | No entrance test |
| NTU SingaporeNTU Singapur · Wien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | not stated |
| PhilosophyWien | 6 sem.180 ECTS | not stated |
Students by winter semester
People enrolled, from Statistik Austria — the same count as the citizenship table below.
| 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 | 2025/26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7,915 | 7,903 | 7,891 | 7,776 | 7,686 | 7,818 | 8,276 | 8,583 | 8,874 | 9,040 |
Students by citizenship, WS 2025/26
People enrolled on 28 February 2026, the ministry's count date for the semester.
Austria
5,913
65.4% of 9,040 students
Other EU countries
1,909
21.1% of 9,040 students
Non-EU countries
1,218
13.5% of 9,040 students
7,763 are on a degree programme and 1,277 on university courses, preparatory courses or single lectures. 1,543 were admitted by this university for the first time this semester.
By citizenship, in the ministry's three groups: Austria, other EU countries, and all other countries. The source does not say where citizens of Switzerland and the non-EU EEA countries are counted. This is not a count of international or exchange students: citizenship says nothing about where someone lived or went to school. Nor is it the fee split, which follows its own rules.
| Winter semester | Austria | Other EU countries | Non-EU countries | Non-Austrian citizens |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014/15 | 5,484 | 1,473 | 765 | 29.0% |
| 2015/16 | 5,516 | 1,556 | 840 | 30.3% |
| 2016/17 | 5,352 | 1,652 | 911 | 32.4% |
| 2017/18 | 5,321 | 1,665 | 917 | 32.7% |
| 2018/19 | 5,237 | 1,698 | 956 | 33.6% |
| 2019/20 | 5,216 | 1,737 | 823 | 32.9% |
| 2020/21 | 5,235 | 1,675 | 776 | 31.9% |
| 2021/22 | 5,309 | 1,715 | 794 | 32.1% |
| 2022/23 | 5,519 | 1,875 | 882 | 33.3% |
| 2023/24 | 5,692 | 1,891 | 1,000 | 33.7% |
| 2024/25 | 5,816 | 1,915 | 1,143 | 34.5% |
| 2025/26 | 5,913 | 1,909 | 1,218 | 34.6% |
Degree studies, WS 2025/26
7,567 degree studies, 1,181 of them begun this semester — a different count from the 9,040 students above.
A study is one enrolment in one degree programme, not a person. Someone enrolled in two programmes counts twice, while a programme run jointly with another institution — including teacher-training subjects shared with teacher-education colleges — is divided between the partners by an agreed key. So a university can have more studies than students or fewer, and the two counts should not be compared or added. Only degree studies (bachelor's, diploma, master's, doctorate) are counted; continuing-education university courses are not. “Begun” means studies in their first semester — a student who switches programme or adds a second one begins a study without being new to the university.
| Degree type | Studies | Share | Begun |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diploma | 5,754 | 76.0% | 945 |
| Master's | 128 | 1.7% | 34 |
| Doctorate | 1,685 | 22.3% | 203 |
Studies by the student's citizenship: Austria 5,313 · Other EU countries 1,656 · Non-EU countries 598. Figures are rounded, so parts may differ from the total by one or two.
Fields of study
Fields are the international ISCED-F 2013 classification the ministry assigns to each programme, not the university's own programme names.
| Field | Studies | Share | Begun |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medicine | 6,721 | 88.8% | 1,053 |
| Dental studies | 695 | 9.2% | 92 |
| Database and network design and administration | 97 | 1.3% | 26 |
| Biology | 54 | 0.7% | 10 |
| Winter semester | 2014/15 | 2015/16 | 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 | 2025/26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Degree studies | 7,105 | 7,192 | 7,220 | 7,171 | 7,088 | 7,063 | 6,926 | 6,930 | 7,225 | 7,354 | 7,480 | 7,567 |
| Begun | 1,120 | 1,086 | 1,037 | 1,042 | 1,021 | 1,050 | 954 | 936 | 1,093 | 1,102 | 1,152 | 1,181 |
Degrees completed, 2024/25
947 degree studies were completed in the 2024/25 study year: Diploma 758 · Master's 20 · Doctorate 169. By the graduate's citizenship: Austria 669 · Other EU countries 226 · Non-EU countries 52.
Completed degree studies in the study year, final figures. These are degrees finished, not people, and a jointly run programme is divided between the partner institutions in the same way as enrolments.
| 2014/15 | 2015/16 | 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 748 | 770 | 819 | 845 | 869 | 888 | 864 | 832 | 767 | 864 | 947 |
Visas, living costs and how to apply in Austria are in our Austria study guide. The register doesn't record the language of instruction — check the programme's own page.
Sources: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research — the higher-education programme register (Hochschulen, Studiengänge) on data.gv.at, CC BY 4.0; student numbers from Statistik Austria, “Studierende an öffentlichen Universitäten nach Uni”, CC BY 4.0.
Citizenship, degree-type, field and graduation figures: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research (BMFWF) — “Studierende öffentliche Universitäten”, “ordentliche Studien und begonnene Studien öffentliche Universitäten” and “ordentliche Studienabschlüsse öffentliche Universitäten”, CC BY 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0), datasource: data.gv.at. Changes: summed across sex and field, rounded to whole numbers, shares calculated and field names given in English by CollegeMatcher.