Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

Public university · Wien · akbild.ac.at

Degree programmes

15

With a selection or test

9

60% of programmes

Students, WS 2025/26

1,716

Fees

  • €363.36 or €726.72 a semester where tuition applies, plus the €26.20 student union fee

At public universities, students from the EU/EEA pay no tuition within the standard length of their programme plus a tolerance; beyond it they pay €363.36 a semester. Students from outside the EU/EEA generally pay €726.72 a semester. Everyone pays the student union (ÖH) fee.

Bachelor's (1)

ProgrammeLengthAdmission
ArchitectureArchitektur · Wien6 sem.180 ECTSSelection procedure

Master's (2)

ProgrammeLengthAdmission
ArchitectureArchitektur · Wien4 sem.120 ECTSSelection procedure
Critical StudiesWien5 sem.150 ECTSSelection procedure

Diploma programme (4)

ProgrammeLengthAdmission
Conservation and RestorationKonservierung und Restaurierung · Wien—Selection procedure
Cultural Studies, branch of studies: Cultural StudiesBildende Kunst: Studienzweig Kunst und kulturwissenschaftliche Studien · Wien—Selection procedure
Fine Arts: Branch of studies: Fine ArtsBildende Kunst · Wien8 sem.240 ECTSSelection procedure
Stage Design / ScenographyBühnengestaltung / Scenography · Wien8 sem.240 ECTSSelection procedure

Teacher training, bachelor's (2)

ProgrammeLengthAdmission
Art and EducationKunst und Bildung · Wien8 sem.240 ECTSSelection procedure
Design in ContextGestaltung im Kontext · Wien8 sem.240 ECTSSelection procedure

Teacher training, master's (2)

ProgrammeLengthAdmission
Art and EducationKunst und Bildung · Wien4 sem.120 ECTSnot stated
Design in ContextGestaltung im Kontext · Wien4 sem.120 ECTSnot stated

Doctorate / PhD (4)

ProgrammeLengthAdmission
Natural SciencesNaturwissenschaften · Wien6 sem.180 ECTSNo entrance test
PhD-in-PracticePractice · Wien8 sem.240 ECTSnot stated
PhilosophyPhilosophie · Wien6 sem.180 ECTSNo entrance test
Technical SciencesTechnische Wissenschaften · Wien6 sem.180 ECTSNo entrance test

Students by winter semester

People enrolled, from Statistik Austria — the same count as the citizenship table below.

2016/172017/182018/192019/202020/212021/222022/232023/242024/252025/26
1,4941,4681,4841,5221,5321,5431,5801,6271,7131,716

Students by citizenship, WS 2025/26

People enrolled on 28 February 2026, the ministry's count date for the semester.

Austria

758

44.2% of 1,716 students

Other EU countries

581

33.9% of 1,716 students

Non-EU countries

377

22.0% of 1,716 students

1,698 are on a degree programme and 18 on university courses, preparatory courses or single lectures. 292 were admitted by this university for the first time this semester.

By citizenship, in the ministry's three groups: Austria, other EU countries, and all other countries. The source does not say where citizens of Switzerland and the non-EU EEA countries are counted. This is not a count of international or exchange students: citizenship says nothing about where someone lived or went to school. Nor is it the fee split, which follows its own rules.

Winter semesterAustriaOther EU countriesNon-EU countriesNon-Austrian citizens
2014/1573342620146.1%
2015/1675144021846.7%
2016/1777346225948.3%
2017/1873845827249.7%
2018/1975645627249.1%
2019/2077746428148.9%
2020/2180946925447.2%
2021/2278047029349.4%
2022/2374451432252.9%
2023/2475052834953.9%
2024/2578256736454.3%
2025/2675858137755.8%

Degree studies, WS 2025/26

1,641 degree studies, 313 of them begun this semester — a different count from the 1,716 students above.

A study is one enrolment in one degree programme, not a person. Someone enrolled in two programmes counts twice, while a programme run jointly with another institution — including teacher-training subjects shared with teacher-education colleges — is divided between the partners by an agreed key. So a university can have more studies than students or fewer, and the two counts should not be compared or added. Only degree studies (bachelor's, diploma, master's, doctorate) are counted; continuing-education university courses are not. “Begun” means studies in their first semester — a student who switches programme or adds a second one begins a study without being new to the university.

Degree typeStudiesShareBegun
Bachelor's36522.2%77
Diploma81549.7%149
Master's23514.3%61
Doctorate22613.8%26

Studies by the student's citizenship: Austria 681 · Other EU countries 574 · Non-EU countries 386. Figures are rounded, so parts may differ from the total by one or two.

Fields of study

Fields are the international ISCED-F 2013 classification the ministry assigns to each programme, not the university's own programme names.

FieldStudiesShareBegun
Fine arts66640.6%134
Teacher training with subject specialisation34220.8%65
Interdisciplinary programmes: arts and humanities31018.9%37
Architecture and town planning18411.2%58
History and archaeology845.1%10
Fashion, interior and industrial design392.4%7
Winter semester2014/152015/162016/172017/182018/192019/202020/212021/222022/232023/242024/252025/26
Degree studies1,3581,3581,4311,4061,4251,4591,4811,4801,5141,5721,6511,641
Begun258245262272267268242263265270303313

Degrees completed, 2024/25

199 degree studies were completed in the 2024/25 study year: Bachelor's 41 · Diploma 101 · Master's 34 · Doctorate 23. By the graduate's citizenship: Austria 95 · Other EU countries 71 · Non-EU countries 33.

Completed degree studies in the study year, final figures. These are degrees finished, not people, and a jointly run programme is divided between the partner institutions in the same way as enrolments.

2014/152015/162016/172017/182018/192019/202020/212021/222022/232023/242024/25
132161147148168120200157163157199

Visas, living costs and how to apply in Austria are in our Austria study guide. The register doesn't record the language of instruction — check the programme's own page.

Sources: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research — the higher-education programme register (Hochschulen, Studiengänge) on data.gv.at, CC BY 4.0; student numbers from Statistik Austria, “Studierende an öffentlichen Universitäten nach Uni”, CC BY 4.0.

Citizenship, degree-type, field and graduation figures: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research (BMFWF) — “Studierende öffentliche Universitäten”, “ordentliche Studien und begonnene Studien öffentliche Universitäten” and “ordentliche Studienabschlüsse öffentliche Universitäten”, CC BY 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0), datasource: data.gv.at. Changes: summed across sex and field, rounded to whole numbers, shares calculated and field names given in English by CollegeMatcher.