Montanuniversität Leoben
Public university · Leoben · unileoben.ac.at
Degree programmes
44
With a selection or test
10
23% of programmes
Students, WS 2025/26
2,929
Fees
- €363.36 or €726.72 a semester where tuition applies, plus the €26.20 student union fee
At public universities, students from the EU/EEA pay no tuition within the standard length of their programme plus a tolerance; beyond it they pay €363.36 a semester. Students from outside the EU/EEA generally pay €726.72 a semester. Everyone pays the student union (ÖH) fee.
Bachelor's (13)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Applied GeosciencesAngewandte Geowissenschaften · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Circular EngineeringLeoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Energy EngineeringEnergietechnik · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Environmental and Climate Protection TechnologyUmwelt- und Klimaschutztechnik · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Geoenergy EngineeringLeoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Industrial Data ScienceLeoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Industrial LogisticsIndustrielogistik · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Materials Science and TechnologyMaterialwissenschaften und Werkstofftechnologie · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | not stated |
| Mechanical EngineeringMontanmaschinenbau · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Metallurgy and Metal RecyclingMetallurgie und Metallkreisläufe · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Mineral Resources EngineeringRohstoffingenieurwesen · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Recycling TechnologyRecyclingtechnik · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Responsible Consumption and ProductionNew Science and Technology · Leoben | 7 sem.210 ECTS | No entrance test |
Master's (29)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Advanced Materials Science and EngineeringLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Entrance or aptitude test |
| Applied GeosciencesAngewandte Geowissenschaften · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Circular EngineeringLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Digital Civil Engineering Science (DiCES)Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Energy EngineeringEnergietechnik · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Environmental and Climate Protection TechnologyUmwelt- und Klimaschutztechnik · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Geoenergy EngineeringLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Industrial Data ScienceLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Industrial LogisticsIndustrielogistik · Leoben | — | No entrance test |
| Industrial Management and Business AdministrationLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| International Master in Sustainable MaterialsLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| International Master of Science in Applied and Exploration GeophysicsLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| International Master of Science in Building Materials and CeramicsInt. Master of Science in Building Materials and Ceramics · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| International Study Program in Petroleum EngineeringLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| JMDP in Advanced Mineral Resources DevelopmentJMDP Advanced Mineral Resources Development · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Joint International Master's Program in Petroleum EngineeringJoint International Master Program in Petroleum Engineering · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Joint Master in Sustainable Mineral & Metal Processing EngineeringSustainable Mineral & Metal Processing Engineering · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Materials ScienceWerkstoffwissenschaft · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Materials ScienceLeoben | — | not stated |
| Mechanical EngineeringMontanmaschinenbau · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Metallurgical EngineeringLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| MetallurgyMetallurgie · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Mining and TunnellingRohstoffgewinnung und Tunnelbau · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| New Science and TechnologyLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | Selection procedure |
| Polymer Engineering and ScienceKunststofftechnik · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Polymer Science and EngineeringLeoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | not stated |
| Raw Materials EngineeringRohstoffverarbeitung · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Recycling TechnologyRecyclingtechnik · Leoben | 4 sem.120 ECTS | No entrance test |
| Responsible Consumption and ProductionLeoben | 6 sem.180 ECTS | not stated |
Doctorate / PhD (2)
| Programme | Length | Admission |
|---|---|---|
| Mining SciencesMontanistische Wissenschaften · Leoben | 6 sem.180 ECTS | No entrance test |
| PhD New Science and TechnologyLeoben | 6 sem.180 ECTS | not stated |
Students by winter semester
People enrolled, from Statistik Austria — the same count as the citizenship table below.
| 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 | 2025/26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4,032 | 3,912 | 3,820 | 3,721 | 3,519 | 3,320 | 3,123 | 2,882 | 2,706 | 2,929 |
Students by citizenship, WS 2025/26
People enrolled on 28 February 2026, the ministry's count date for the semester.
Austria
1,819
62.1% of 2,929 students
Other EU countries
237
8.1% of 2,929 students
Non-EU countries
873
29.8% of 2,929 students
2,821 are on a degree programme and 108 on university courses, preparatory courses or single lectures. 581 were admitted by this university for the first time this semester.
By citizenship, in the ministry's three groups: Austria, other EU countries, and all other countries. The source does not say where citizens of Switzerland and the non-EU EEA countries are counted. This is not a count of international or exchange students: citizenship says nothing about where someone lived or went to school. Nor is it the fee split, which follows its own rules.
| Winter semester | Austria | Other EU countries | Non-EU countries | Non-Austrian citizens |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014/15 | 3,178 | 228 | 367 | 15.8% |
| 2015/16 | 3,313 | 275 | 352 | 15.9% |
| 2016/17 | 3,397 | 265 | 370 | 15.7% |
| 2017/18 | 3,258 | 260 | 394 | 16.7% |
| 2018/19 | 3,145 | 247 | 428 | 17.7% |
| 2019/20 | 3,022 | 261 | 438 | 18.8% |
| 2020/21 | 2,849 | 253 | 417 | 19.0% |
| 2021/22 | 2,662 | 247 | 411 | 19.8% |
| 2022/23 | 2,397 | 243 | 483 | 23.2% |
| 2023/24 | 2,214 | 239 | 429 | 23.2% |
| 2024/25 | 1,954 | 215 | 537 | 27.8% |
| 2025/26 | 1,819 | 237 | 873 | 37.9% |
Degree studies, WS 2025/26
2,973 degree studies, 704 of them begun this semester — a different count from the 2,929 students above.
A study is one enrolment in one degree programme, not a person. Someone enrolled in two programmes counts twice, while a programme run jointly with another institution — including teacher-training subjects shared with teacher-education colleges — is divided between the partners by an agreed key. So a university can have more studies than students or fewer, and the two counts should not be compared or added. Only degree studies (bachelor's, diploma, master's, doctorate) are counted; continuing-education university courses are not. “Begun” means studies in their first semester — a student who switches programme or adds a second one begins a study without being new to the university.
| Degree type | Studies | Share | Begun |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor's | 1,464 | 49.2% | 312 |
| Master's | 1,051 | 35.4% | 340 |
| Doctorate | 458 | 15.4% | 52 |
Studies by the student's citizenship: Austria 1,913 · Other EU countries 235 · Non-EU countries 826. Figures are rounded, so parts may differ from the total by one or two.
Fields of study
Fields are the international ISCED-F 2013 classification the ministry assigns to each programme, not the university's own programme names.
| Field | Studies | Share | Begun |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mechanics and metal trades | 927 | 31.2% | 171 |
| Mining and extraction | 730 | 24.6% | 173 |
| Environmental protection technology | 427 | 14.4% | 130 |
| Interdisciplinary programmes: engineering, manufacturing and construction | 267 | 9.0% | 120 |
| Electricity and energy | 264 | 8.9% | 49 |
| Electronics and automation | 189 | 6.4% | 37 |
| Chemical engineering and processes | 157 | 5.3% | 22 |
| Winter semester | 2014/15 | 2015/16 | 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 | 2025/26 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Degree studies | 4,219 | 4,361 | 4,419 | 4,283 | 4,145 | 3,965 | 3,648 | 3,410 | 3,278 | 3,006 | 2,812 | 2,973 |
| Begun | 1,024 | 932 | 825 | 756 | 755 | 731 | 559 | 585 | 549 | 516 | 489 | 704 |
Degrees completed, 2024/25
520 degree studies were completed in the 2024/25 study year: Bachelor's 192 · Master's 244 · Doctorate 84. By the graduate's citizenship: Austria 400 · Other EU countries 41 · Non-EU countries 79.
Completed degree studies in the study year, final figures. These are degrees finished, not people, and a jointly run programme is divided between the partner institutions in the same way as enrolments.
| 2014/15 | 2015/16 | 2016/17 | 2017/18 | 2018/19 | 2019/20 | 2020/21 | 2021/22 | 2022/23 | 2023/24 | 2024/25 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 474 | 464 | 482 | 501 | 568 | 557 | 689 | 540 | 620 | 570 | 520 |
Visas, living costs and how to apply in Austria are in our Austria study guide. The register doesn't record the language of instruction — check the programme's own page.
Sources: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research — the higher-education programme register (Hochschulen, Studiengänge) on data.gv.at, CC BY 4.0; student numbers from Statistik Austria, “Studierende an öffentlichen Universitäten nach Uni”, CC BY 4.0.
Citizenship, degree-type, field and graduation figures: Federal Ministry of Women, Science and Research (BMFWF) — “Studierende öffentliche Universitäten”, “ordentliche Studien und begonnene Studien öffentliche Universitäten” and “ordentliche Studienabschlüsse öffentliche Universitäten”, CC BY 4.0 (creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0), datasource: data.gv.at. Changes: summed across sex and field, rounded to whole numbers, shares calculated and field names given in English by CollegeMatcher.