🇬🇹 17 universities · 1,286 registered programmes
Guatemala's universities — every programme on the CEPS register.
All 17 universities — the state university, USAC, and 16 private ones — with the faculties, schools and regional centres and the programmes listed under each in the register of the Consejo de la Enseñanza Privada Superior (CEPS): level, year created and length.
Universities
17
1 public · 16 private
Programmes on the register
1,286
at 14 universities; 3 have none listed
Doctorates on the register
17
at 5 universities
Most recently founded, by CEPS's dates
Universidad Juan José Arévalo Bermejo
founded 8 August 2024 · 3 universities have no founding date in the register
What the register is, and what isn't here
Guatemala has one state university, the Universidad de San Carlos (USAC), which is autonomous under the Constitution (art. 82); every other university is private. The Consejo de la Enseñanza Privada Superior (CEPS) authorises new private universities and oversees their academic standards (art. 86), and private universities are free to create their own faculties and programmes (art. 85). CEPS's public register lists the universities, their faculties, schools, institutes and regional centres, and the programmes under each — including USAC's, which are shown as the register shows them.
A programme is counted once per university however many faculties or regional centres list it. The register gives no closing date, so it does not say whether a programme is still taught or admitting students; the level, year of creation and length are as CEPS records them (a year that is not a plausible year is left blank, never corrected), and the register mixes degrees with diplomas, short courses and pre-university programmes.
No enrolment, fees, admission requirements or graduate outcomes are published per university as open data, so this is a directory of universities and their registered programmes, not a matcher.
The state university
The Universidad de San Carlos de Guatemala is the country's only public university and is autonomous; its faculties, schools and regional university centres are listed in CEPS's register like the private universities'.
| University | Programmes | Licenciaturas | Master's | Doctorates | Faculties and centres |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Universidad de San Carlos de GuatemalaUSAC · founded 1676 | 213 | 105 | 38 | 0 | 35 |
The 16 private universities
Alphabetically. The oldest, Universidad Rafael Landívar, was founded in 1961 by CEPS's date; founding dates are the ones CEPS records. CEPS's register lists no faculties or programmes for 3 of them (Universidad Americana, Universidad Francisco Marroquín, Universidad Regional de Guatemala) — a gap in the register, not a statement about what they teach.
| University | Programmes | Licenciaturas | Master's | Doctorates | Faculties and centres |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Universidad Americanaua.edu.gt | None listed | — | — | — | — |
| Universidad Da Vinci de GuatemalaUDV · founded 2012 | 124 | 44 | 30 | 4 | 14 |
| Universidad de OccidenteUDEO · founded 2010 | 40 | 13 | 5 | 0 | 7 |
| Universidad del IstmoUNIS · founded 1997 | 47 | 24 | 11 | 0 | 8 |
| Universidad Del Valle de GuatemalaUVG · founded 1966 | 119 | 45 | 38 | 0 | 10 |
| Universidad Francisco MarroquínUFM · ufm.edu | None listed | — | — | — | — |
| Universidad Galileofounded 2000 | 203 | 59 | 59 | 6 | 22 |
| Universidad InterNacionesUNI · founded 2009 | 97 | 19 | 62 | 0 | 5 |
| Universidad Juan José Arévalo Bermejofounded 2024 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Universidad Mariano Gálvez de GuatemalaUMG · founded 1966 | 96 | 36 | 43 | 3 | 14 |
| Universidad MesoamericanaUMES · founded 1999 | 45 | 22 | 7 | 0 | 10 |
| Universidad PanamericanaUPANA · founded 1998 | 122 | 34 | 50 | 3 | 11 |
| Universidad Rafael LandívarURL · founded 1961 | 82 | 40 | 25 | 0 | 9 |
| Universidad Regional de Guatemalauregional.edu.gt | None listed | — | — | — | — |
| Universidad Rural de Guatemalafounded 1995 | 59 | 16 | 7 | 0 | 11 |
| Universidad San Pablo de GuatemalaUSPG · founded 2006 | 37 | 12 | 14 | 1 | 5 |
Programmes by level
The level CEPS records for each programme, counted once per university (a programme recorded at two levels counts under each). A licenciatura is Guatemala's first university degree; a técnico is a shorter university qualification; a profesorado is a teaching qualification.
| Level | Programmes | Universities |
|---|---|---|
| Licenciatura (first degree) | 471 | 14 |
| Ingeniería (engineering degree) | 47 | 11 |
| Maestría (master's) | 389 | 13 |
| Doctorado (doctorate) | 17 | 5 |
| Técnico (university technician) | 139 | 11 |
| Profesorado (teaching qualification) | 88 | 11 |
| Undergraduate diploma | 27 | 6 |
| Postgraduate diploma | 79 | 8 |
| Level not specified | 32 | 5 |
“Level not specified” is CEPS's own “No especificado” — it includes several universities' bachelor's-style Baccalaureatus degrees, short courses and pre-university programmes, left as recorded.
Studying in Guatemala?
We'll email you when CEPS's register changes or Guatemala publishes more university data.
By signing up you agree to our privacy policy.
Source: Consejo de la Enseñanza Privada Superior (CEPS), Guatemala — register of universities and programmes, ceps.edu.gt, read 20 October 2026. Facts re-stated by CollegeMatcher under Decreto 33-98 (Ley de Derecho de Autor y Derechos Conexos), art. 35, which does not extend copyright in a compilation to the data in it; CEPS's text, descriptions and report layout are not reproduced. Names are CEPS's; English labels, groupings and counts are CollegeMatcher's.